Advocare 24 Day Challenge

Today (May 2, 2016) is the first day of my Advocare 24 Day Challenge.  I am not by any means a health nut.  I will not try to sell you on Advocare.  I will not even push my diet on you.  I am just sharing my story in hopes that someone else like me can be helped.

Let me back track a little to tell how I became involved in this challenge.  About a month ago, I went to the doctor because my knee was hurting.  After taking x-rays, he found that I am almost bone on bone in both my knees.  I am 42 and he said that is too young for knee replacement (the new knee is only guaranteed for about 15 years) and I am also too overweight for the knee surgery to help.  He recommended a personal trainer that has helped other patients there.  Two weeks later, I went to a different doctor in the same office for chronic low back pain. He says that he can see a little arthritis but nothing too bad.  He thinks I need to strengthen my back and of course lose weight.  He also recommended the person trainer.  So I contacted the personal trainer.

The trainer told me that right now with my mobility issues, it is not best to do a bunch of exercises.  Instead, he wants to work on my nutrition and have me do 30 minutes on a recumbent bike daily.  Then he said to me:  “If you give yourself to me and do what I suggest, I’ll get you to where you want to go.”

Where did I want to go?  Well,  my class reunion is in October.  I would like to look nice for that.  I want to be able to walk with my back and knees not hurting. I want to be able to go shopping with friends and walk around the store.  I want to be able to play tag with my nieces. There are so many things I want.  He is going to get me there.  So I trusted in his suggestion of Advocare and here I am today starting it.

When I heard “Advocare,” I was a little wary.  So many of these diet plans are based on a pyramid “scheme.”  The seller gets you hooked and then makes you start to sell the product as well.  No matter how well it works, I do not want to be a salesman.  He says that because he is a trainer and works directly with the doctors, he does not do this.  He just knows that the plan works and that is why he uses it. He also said I do not have to buy anymore of the products after my challenge.  This is just to help me kick start my metabolism.  Ok, so I was sold.

The products were a little expensive but hopefully worth it.  There are 24 days total.  The first 10 is a cleansing phase and the last 14 is a “max” phase.

So here is what I am doing today, day 1:

This morning when I first got to work around 8am, I took 2 pills that are called Probiotic Restore.

Around 9, I added fruit punch Spark to 8 ounces of water and ice.  I mixed a fiber pack in with that too.  I had another 8 ounces of water after that.  This actually filled me up because I am not used to drinking so much that early.  I was worried that the fiber was going to taste bad but i did not even notice it.  I had to shake my sport bottle a couple of times until it completely dissolved and it was pretty good.

Around 11, I had what I called my breakfast:  an apple and another 8 ounces of water.

it is 1 now and I am supposed to have a snack before lunch, but I don’t think I will need it. here is my plan for the rest of the day:

Around 2, I will have my lunch.  Today I brought about 4 oz of shredded chicken,  lettuce, carrots and some light french dressing and 8 ounces of water

Around 3, I will have another fruit punch Spark with 8 ounces of water

Around 4, I will have snack of cut up apples, pineapples and grapes.

I am off work at 4:30, so then I will head to the gym. With traffic, I will probably get there around 5:30 and do 30 minutes on the bike.

Then home and dinner will be grilled chicken breast.  I haven’t decided what to have with it yet. At that time, I will take an Omegaplex vitamin.

I get a snack before bed which will probably be more fruit

At bedtime, I take Herbal Cleanse capulets.

One issue I have noticed so far is that all this extra water is making me move more.  Normally i would go to the bathroom maybe 2 times the entire day.  Today I have already gone 3 times and I’m going to have to go again soon and it’s only halfway through the day.

Another big issue I am having is I am very picky.  There are hardly any vegetables that I like and the only meats that I like that I can eat are chicken and turkey.  I do not like breakfast foods at all.  I know that I am supposed to change the way I think to make this work, but my trainer suggested egg whites for breakfast and I almost gagged on the phone.  So this is very hard for me.  I am going to do some searching for some recipes that  might help and post them on here in future days.

Thanks for reading and wish me luck!

lunch 5-2

(my food-the apple is breakfast, the red container has my fruit for my snacks and then other container is a salad with chicken on top)

3 thoughts on “Advocare 24 Day Challenge

  1. That Pegan Life May 2, 2016 / 6:27 pm

    Good luck! Do you like (and can you have) quinoa? I found a great quinoa oatmeal recipe that I am happy to share!

    Like

    • itsjustmejanie May 2, 2016 / 8:16 pm

      Thank you. I’m not a fan of quinoa but definitely share your recipe. I can try it once, right? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • That Pegan Life May 5, 2016 / 1:47 am

        I just posted the inspiration for my recipe, and my current breakfast quinoa obsession on my blog. Fingers crossed you like it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

