The new year–the new everything?

happy-new-year-2017

I know it hasn’t been that long since my last blog but I wanted to post an update.  I have now lost 86.4 lbs since May 1, 2016.  What’s the phrase everyone uses?  “New Year New Me”  I can’t really say that because I was turning into a new me in 2016. However I am going to keep going and see a brand new me emerge at the end 🙂 Everyone talks about new year’s resolutions.  My weight loss journey is not a resolution.  It is a fact.  It is happening and I will not let anything get in the way of it.  My resolution is to be more positive about everything.  For example, I hurt my foot this past weekend.  It hurts to walk and that really sucks for exercising.  However, I am trying to be very positive about it and you know what.. after 3 days it is already feeling better.  I have also made a resolution to try to be less shy.  Those that know me probably wouldn’t believe I am shy but when it comes to certain situations, I definitely hold myself back a lot.  I need to work on that. I think as I gain confidence and believe that I deserve certain things in life, I will continue to become less shy.

measuring-tape

Yesterday I did my measurements and compared them to the beginning of May when i started all this.  From my waist, chest, hips and upper thigh, I have lost a total of 34 inches.  11.5 of that was in my waist alone!

This is not easy though.  I am not glib about it, just proud.  Every day, I have to think about what I am going to eat vs. the activities I am going to do to achieve the proper balance of calories, etc.   The easiest part, which I thought was going to be the hardest part, was giving up Coke.  For those that do not know me, I am the Coca Cola girl.  My kitchen is decorated in Coca Cola paraphernalia.  I am very brand loyal.  I do not like Pepsi or Dr. Pepper or any other of the brown colas.  I have been drinking coke since I was probably 5 years old.  I have loved it almost my entire life.  I thought for sure that I would have cravings for it.  The sad thing, I do not even remember what it tastes like.  My last coke was at the end of April.  I have not had any cravings for it at all. I thought by now i would be ripping apart the old bottles of  Coke that I have in my collection in my kitchen but I rarely even think of coke.  I am definitely lucky to have found and liked sparkling water.

cartoon4704.png

The scary thing for me is that I am less than 14 lbs away from getting a tattoo.  I said when I lose 100 lbs I am getting a tattoo.  I haven’t decided if I want one just on my wrist or down the outside of my arm.  I have an idea what I want to get but I want to wait and make it a surprise.  I am afraid of needles but I think this will be a final test of the strength I have been proving that I have all year.

Anyway this will probably be the last blog until I hit that 100 lb mark.  I will definitely post pics of the tattoo I will be getting.  Just don’t tell my dad 😉

Leave a Reply

