1 year later

1-year-12-months2

Hey everyone!  So I started my weight loss journey on May 1, 2016.  Yesterday was one year later.  It is by no means over, but it is important to celebrate the anniversary of my new life.  Unfortunately I did not lose the 100 lbs that I wanted to.  As of May 1 2017, I have lost 98.5 lbs.  This is not a setback.  Losing that much weight took hard work and dedication.  When I hit the 100 lb lost mark, I still plan on getting a tattoo to remind me of the hard work and pain so I will never gain any of the weight back.

measuring-tape

I wanted to share the measurements I lost with you.  Normally I would just add all these together and give a total, but I am proud of each individual measurement:

I lost 12 inches around my chest

I lost 11.5 inches around my waist

I lost 13 inches around my hips

Normally I am not a person who likes to brag.  I am actually a shy person who will blush (but still enjoy) when receiving a compliment.   This weight loss is the probably the biggest thing I have achieved in my life.  I would venture to say that it is right up there with getting my two Bachelor of Science Degrees (in Information Technology and Web Development)  It is definitely the most personal thing I have achieved in my life.  So when I post my victories on Facebook or in this blog, I hope no one thinks I am bragging just to brag.

how

Many people have asked how I did it.  If you have read through my previous blogs, you know some of the steps I took.  But first I want to say, I do not believe in diets.  There are no fad diets that will help you lose weight and keep it off.    That being said, I started my weight loss journey last May by doing the 24 day Advocare Challenge.   It involved buying a bunch of supplements and eating very little for 24 days.  I ended up losing 24 lbs in 24 days.  After that, I added back in more foods but gave up pop entirely.  I actually thought that was going to be the hardest thing to do but oddly, I have had no cravings for Coca Cola which was my favorite drink and in fact usually the ONLY drink I had.  I think what helped me is I fell in love with sparkling and seltzer flavored waters.   I cut my calories down to 1200-1400 a day.   Some days I do go over that and that is because I do not limit myself.  If I am craving ice cream, I will go to Dairy Queen but I will pay attention to the calorie content and get the lowest on the menu  (usually a small Arctic cherry freeze(with the ice cream blended in.)  If I am craving chips, I have some.  I see my friends and relatives who are dieting, restrict themselves and then when they have a “cheat” day they go all out and it can be hard to come back from that.  I have had cheat days where I go to an all you can eat pizza place with family or where I have pasta.  But i find that even on my cheat days, I do not go crazy because I haven’t limited myself other days.  Other stuff I have done to lose weight is attend Water Aerobics every Monday and Aqua Zumba every Tuesday.  On the in between days, I try to work out at home by riding my stationary bike, lifting weights or doing crunches on my bosu ball.

feeling-good

I feel great!  I feel like me again.  I am able to do things I have not done in years.  I love going to concerts.  I used to limit myself on how many I could go to based on what my body allowed me to do without giving out.  Now I can go to any concert I want to and not worry about the seating situation or how far I have to walk.   I used to love to support my friends in local bands but I would worry about what kind of seats they would have (if any) and if I went, I definitely couldn’t do any kind of dancing.    Now I have just go with no worries and I have even had fun dancing a few times like I used to.  I know this is just going to get better.. Hey maybe in another  year I will be able to ice skate again…. that would be awesome!  Also, my new year’s resolution was to be more positive.  I think that is definitely helping.  I feel happier and more at peace.  I still have times where I over think things, but who doesn’t?

Life isn’t perfect but it is getting there.

One thought on “1 year later

  1. Mom Hall May 3, 2017 / 4:12 pm

    Janie you are my inspiration!!!! The new you is Wonderful! Except I do not get to see you much! Your so busy with all your activities!I think GOD TRULY INSPIRED YOU! When you were stripped of things and gave it to God look how he came thru for you! So much happiness!! Do I see a husband in the future? Maybe another grandchild? I NEED ONE OF THOSE! I HOPE THIS MAN IS AS GOOD AS YOU ARE IN MIND BODY AND SOUL!!! HE
    WILL continue to make you happy as you are now even happier! But GOD’S WILL BE DONE NOT OURS BUT HIS!!!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS ON THE BIGGEST ACCOPLISHMENT IN YOUR LIFE! I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!! I WILL BE HERE FOR THE NEXT 60 LBS OK LOVE MOMXOXO

    Like

Leave a Reply

